Overcomer

Thinking of the elections, the fear of where our country is headed, and worrying about the choices voters can make is frightening.  In the process of moving, I flipped through a couple of my diaries from over the years.  One entry from January 26, 2009 was a good reminder to me – and not just about fearing the world and our present culture, but all fear as well.  Hope it helps all of you right where you’re at.  ❤

God gave me a verse last week that was like a thwack on the head to me.  I’ve been thinking myself silly about souls, being innocent and protected, how much I hate knowing anything about evil, and my fears and hatred of the world.  I’m not balanced, and I know it, and I shouldn’t be afraid.  But I thought I would rather stay with my mentalities and fear.  And then, the verse::

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”  Romans 12:21

That’s what I’ve done!  Let evil overcome me.  Let it rule my fears.  Let it close off my brain to good. 

Overcomer

And I have been commanded to not be overcome by evil!

It was a light int he tunnel, a rainbow in a grey sky, and a heavy weight to balance the scales of my mind.

The Greek word for “overcome” is neeko.  I went looking for more verses with that word and found more comfort and encouragement than I would have ever expected.

“For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people.”  1 Peter 2:15

We believers can overcome evil with good, and it’s God’s will that we will silence the world!  All the stupidity.  The fools.  All of it will be silenced because it is God’s will that my obedience will make it so!  I think this should be the key theme verse for Brad and me   For all of the friends like of us.[going into marriage].

And who has done it already for us?

“I have said these things to you, that in Me you may have peace.  In the world you will have tribulation.  But take heart, I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

Jesus says it will be hard.  Tribulation.  I shouldn’t be surprised by what I see.  But Jesus wants me to have peace.  He says, “Take heart!”  The word is one I don’t know: tharsaytay, but my Greek New Testament translates it, “be cheerful” or “take courage.”  Jesus doesn’t want me to be afraid!  He’s overcome the world and will teach us how to.

How?

1 John 5:4-5: “For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world.  And this is the victory that has overcome the world – our faith.  Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?”

These are all variations of that same word neeko, to overcome!

All who are saved overcome the world.  Not all will, all do.  All believers.  Me!  And with what?  Our faith.  By believing that Jesus is the Son of God, I already have a victory over the world.  Evil grinds its filthy teeth at us – at the faith that ultimately, and permanently saves us from its jaws.  When I have faith in God’s promises, trust His Word, and step out in belief in scary circumstances, I have overcome the world.  Faith is obedience.  Obedience is good.  Overcome evil with good.  Take heart!

Yet another verse in 1 John gives me courage: “Every spirit that does not confess Jesus is not from God.  This is the spirit of the antichrist, which you heard was coming and now is in the world already.  Little children, you are from God and have overcome them, for He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.”  1 John 4:3-4

Neeko is also translated “victory,” [from where we get the name Nicole and its meaning of “victorious.”  :-)] If I see myself as a soldier with the whole world against me, I can’t forget that Jesus lives inside my mind as well.  He is in control of all the boxes in my brain.  He wants to set me free from fears.  I am from God.  I feel like a little child, but I can overcome the antichrist!

And now, the most special verse of all to me: 1 John 2:14b 

“I write to you, young people, because you are strong, and the Word of God abides in you, and you have overcome the evil one.”

You are strong.

I am strong.  Mentally strong.  Strong because Jesus lives in me and it is God’s will.  Strong in my faith.  How much of Scripture lives in my mind, etches Itself into the caverns and crevices of every thought?  Why am I not memorizing more Scripture?  Why don’t I begin with these verses?  He calls for young people, which is me!  I am strong so memorize Scripture.  I haven’t just overcome the world.  I haven’t just overcome the evil in the world.  I have overcome the evil one.

“Be wise as serpents and innocent as doves.”  Matthew 10:16

Don’t forget the “wise as serpents” part.  I have nothing to fear!  I am fighting a battle I’ve already been predestined to win!

I pray God reminds me to take heart, especially as I get married, grow up further, and become the keeper of my own home out in the world – as I see more evil.

I think it’s imperative that I study 1 John, as well as begin to memorize.  John seems to speak right to me in this book.  God knows what He’s doing.

“Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.  So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us.  God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him.  By this is love perfected with us, so that we may have CONFIDENCE for the day of judgment, because as He is so also are we in this world.  There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.  For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.”  1 John 4:15-18

2 thoughts on “Overcomer

  1. What timing! I am getting ready to start memorizing 1 John, probably next week. Our pastor shared a message a few weeks back about fear, and it hit me hard. I have been thinking since then of the verses you ended with, and I decided I needed to commit more of this book to memory. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

I want to hear from you!

