Recording Completed: Genesis

Today, on January 27th, I finished recording the entire book of Genesis aloud!

To see what I’ve been doing and why, here is my original post on recording the Bible: https://blonderj.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/rjs-1-new-years-resolution/

Two lessons I took away from the book of Genesis:

  • God uses very fallen people.  The twelve sons of Jacob were a bunch of very bad boys, yet God created the entire nation of Israel through them, even allowing His Messiah to come from Judah’s line!  While nothing excuses sin, you can still be used by God to further His kingdom.
  • Everything that happens is part of God’s plan.  We see and know so little.  We are so finite.  It’s okay to feel sorrow and sadness over life’s twists and turns as well as trials and hardship, however it is all in God’s plan and is for good.

Favorite verses from Genesis:        

  • On temptation and sin addiction: “If you do what is right, will you not be accepted?  But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it.”  4:7
  • On those who are living in sin and fallen away: “Cain said to the Lord, ‘My punishment is more than I can bear.  Today you are driving me from the land, and I will be hidden from your presence… But the Lord said to him, ‘Not so, if anyone kills Cain, he will suffer vengeance seven times over.'” (This shows God’s mercy, and how He still protects and gives second chances.  He didn’t let Cain die before his time or others mistreat him to the point of death.  He was giving Cain mercy, even though Cain was a murderer himself.)  4:13-14a, 15
  • On difficult change in our lives: “And now, do not be distressed and do not be angry with yourselves for selling me here, because it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you.  So then, it was not you who sent me here, but God.”  45:5, 8
I want to hear from you!

