The Ten Best Anime Characters – According to My Husband!

I haven’t blogged all week!  Shame on me!

However, I was taking a much-needed Internet fast.  With a sudden bout of walking pneumonia, and a bunch of personal issues to pray through, I also worked on an exciting project I’d like to share.

My husband and I just hit five years of marriage.  He and I are real anime buffs.  Contact me here: dashwoodavenue@gmail.com, at my work email, if you’d like to take a look at my myanimelist.net list for recommendations.  🙂

On myanimelist.net, there are options to set up your personal profile, which includes your ten favorite anime characters of all time.  Secretly, I went and looked at my husband’s lists, found pictures of each that I liked, and sat down to spend 12 hours total painstakingly drawing and watercolor painting each into a work of art for my husband!  It was an amazing time to sit and be still before the Lord, praying and thinking and creating something fun.  It’s amazing what you can do when you take a week-long Internet fast, are getting over being sick (so you have nowhere to go, and have toddlers who still nap three hours a day!

Here are the pictures of my project’s progression:

IMG_3514First I had to lightly pencil in my layout of each character.  The layout was very important.  I know each character and wanted to portray their personality, especially in a group.  I wanted to show who they were.  I also had to fit them precisely on my 11×15 paper.

IMG_3515I then drew the characters in, layer by layer, erasing the overlap.  Here are L, Chitanda, Haruhi, Lelouch, and C.C.

IMG_3517I inked over the pencil lines in pen when I was satisfied.  Here are Azusa, Ayu, and Rikka.

IMG_3522The whole sketch!

IMG_3570Lastly, I mixed the perfect colors for each character’s outfit and skin, and painted it in watercolor!  Voila!

Before I start trying to do some painting on the side as a little side business (Currently haven’t found anyone interested in piano or voice lessons out here yet, and am still working on my next novel, so I have no side income coming in), I’d love to see if there’s any interest in this sort of thing.

I am willing to draw any anime character (unless it’s a seriously immodest/provocative pose/outfit.  That will be up to my discretion), or any set of anime characters, doing whatever pose you’d like.  $15 + shipping for the first character, and $10 for every character added after that – since it takes me about an hour per character to find the right reference photos to draw from, pencil it in, go over it with pen, mix the right colors, paint, and then shade.  🙂

Email me at dashwoodavenue@gmail.com if you’re interested.

2 thoughts on “The Ten Best Anime Characters – According to My Husband!

  1. This is GREAT RJ! 🙂 Anime is amazing, I’ve always been so impressed by that style…. You would LOVE prismacolor markers… or even Copic Markers… those are great for that style! Brad’s gonna LOVE those! 🙂 xoxo -Meg

    Like

I want to hear from you!

