RJ’s Favorite Love Song

(Note: You’re still at the right BlondeRJ blog.  WordPress is hiccuping and making me look like my friend over at Lantern Leaf Press.  😀  I’ll have good old Watercolor-Anime-Me up again soon!)

One of my favorite songs of all time, for the use of my favorite three chords, is When Love Takes Over by David Guetta and Kelly Rowland.  I am a piano teacher, as well, and have been playing since the age of 5, so I sure love that strong piano.  🙂

I listened to this song a lot while creating Lucent Sylph, as I felt like it accurately portrayed what Lucas was worried about in the story: love taking over.

In reality, God wants love to take over our whole lives, whether it means heartbreak or not.  And that was what I explored in this story – loving the difficult people, even though I know I will get nothing but hurt, because they can’t love me back.  This is when we truly get a taste of Christ.  ❤

Who is the easiest person for you to love?  Who is the hardest?  What have you learned when you chose to keep loving the hard one?

There is something truly Christlike that we gain from baring our hearts, wisely, but with vulnerability.  We gain a certain intimacy of knowing how Christ felt exposed and bare on the cross, dying for the sins of those who had nailed Him there.  This is worth doing, even if the initial plunge of giving, without hope of receiving, can feel like jumping off of a high dive.

What is your favorite love song?

Lucent Sylph: A Short Story will be out in FIVE days.  Remember, you can still win your own Lucent Sylph!

2 thoughts on “RJ’s Favorite Love Song

  1. Hmmm, so hard to choose a favorite love song (or really a favorite song in any category)! I like bits and pieces of many love songs, but generally I don’t love the entire thing. I’m partial to the chorus of “Ho Hey” by the Lumineers… “I belong with you / You belong with me / You’re my sweetheart.” 🙂 I also like most of “Gone Gone Gone” by Phillip Phillips, and his other song, “Home.”

    But ultimately I think my favorite is “All I Want Is You” by the Vespers. 😀 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjuxuG6shNY

    And my hubby and I have a special love song – the song the cabby and police man sing for George Bailey and his wife on their honeymoon in the broken-down house in “It’s A Wonderful Life.” I’m not sure how that became our song, exactly, and it’s not my favorite for sure, but it’s special to us. 🙂

    I love you truly, truly dear,
    Life with its sorrow, life with its tear
    Fades into dreams when I feel you are near
    For I love you truly, truly dear.

    Like

I want to hear from you!

