Liebster Award – or an interview about me!

Thank you, TheGatheringFire!  What a treat this was to get to answer your eleven questions.  🙂

I’m sorry I took so long – being caught up in promoting Lucent Sylph.  But I’m going to try to get back into regular blogging again.  🙂

1. How long have you been writing?

I started telling stories almost from the moment I could talk, but I wrote my first story in my very first diary, the day before I turned seven years old.
Here’s the story, in its entirety, with all spelling mistakes included (although, I spelled really well for a 6 1/2 year old):

(Gotta to go dig up the tiny key for this diary.  It was one of those with a lock.  :-D)

I like pretending I’m a princess.  One time I pretended this: I didn’t do anything like a princess I do all the things people do.  But I was still a princess.  I had some friends they were princesses to.  But they did everything pricesses do.  One day I wanted to play with my friend he wasn’t a prince and his name was Mohab… Oops I forgot to tell you my friend’s names.  One’s name was Colleen and the other’s name was Victoria.  Well Colleen and Victoria liked playing with Mohab too.  They like playing with him every day.  But this time I wanted to play with him by myself.  But they wanted to play too.  So they tied me up.  Well I bit the rope and got out of there and told my mom.  My mom said we should all just play together.  But just then who should come around the corner but Colleen and Victoria!!  I started runing but before I coud go anywhere I got hit with a stone and I fell down.  Well mom saw me laid me on my bed and called the doctor.  The doctor said I was alright and Colleen + Victoria should be put in jail.  I hit Colleen + Victoria with a rock.  I didn’t go to jail and we all played nicey with Mohab. 

The End

I started typing on the computer by age 8, because my handwriting was bad and it took too long.  I got pretty fast with two fingers for a while.  My first chapter book was written at the age of 9.  It was called The Red Kids, and was about a group of triplets whose skin was permanently red because their parents never smacked them at birth to get them to breathe right.

I kid you not.

IMG_6597

This is me at age 7.  I look angelic, right?  Notice the Santa isn’t smiling, or even looking at the camera.  He’s reeling from the fact that I used my cleverly planned line on him a second earlier.

He said, “Were you a good girl this year?”
I said, “No.  I’m a sinner and I deserve hell.
I never believed in Santa Claus.

2. What is your favorite genre to read?

Realistic, issue-driven fiction.  Psychological drama.  Real, gut-wrenching emotion.  With a good love story.

Favorite authors: Susan Vaught, Ted Dekker, and Tachibana Higuchi.

I’ll read just about any genre though (except erotica), because I love new ideas and experiences in fiction.  🙂

3. What genre do you primarily write?

Issue-driven fiction.  Some evangelical, a sci-fi or two, some with a bit of a mystery, and some with a comedic romance.  But all have to have psychological dilemmas and is emotion-driven, inter-personal and introspective.

4. What is your favorite place you’ve traveled to and/or your dream destination?

My favorite vacations always involve visiting other people, but my favorite has to be my honeymoon to Grand Cayman with my favorite person.  🙂  I’d LOVE to visit more of the world.  There are so many places I want to go to and write about.

5. Who is your favorite author?

Woops.  I answered that above.

I have favorite books by other authors, but my favorite authors are at the top because I like 75% or so of their writing.

6. What is your favorite movie?

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty (the OLD Danny Kaye version, please!) and Chicken Run.

In Secret Life, Danny Kaye is a dreamy writer.  I identify with him in some ways, although I’m far more practical than he is.  I love the clever story.

Chicken Run has gorgeous music, and the story just encourages me when I’m down.  It holds a dear place in my heart.  Even listening to the music can motivate and enliven me.

7. What hobbies/pastimes do you enjoy?

Writing.  😀

Playing the piano and singing.  I was a piano and voice teacher for ten years, so I’ve done even more music than I have writing.  That’s not something a lot of people currently know about me.  But I adore music.  🙂

I love social networks and getting together with people.

I LOVE homeschooling my kids.

8. Rain or sunshine?

Sunshine.  I’m a Californian.  🙂

9. Where is your favorite writing spot?

Hawaii.  My family took a trip there back when I was in my late teens.  I wrote some fictional futuristic memoirs of myself then.  (Yep, like what my husband would be like and my future kids).  I will always remember the beauty, peace, and fun writing in that gorgeous location.

10. Describe your favorite childhood memory.

Only one?

I don’t know if it counts as a childhood memory, but we moved to Texas when I was 17, due to my dad’s work.  I was devastated, and my life, future college plans, and everything came crashing down.  I was a miserable mess.

Six months later, for my highschool graduation and for turning 18, my dad took the whole family back to California.  We attended a homeschool conference (I was homeschooled all the way up) and Dad make sure we got to see, and spend time with, all of our friends.

Due to his super generous nature, and his love for my hurting heart, he took a bunch of my best friends and me out to Knotts Berry Farm (amusement park) to celebrate graduation and my birthday.  His love was not lost on me, and I remember it being the absolute most perfect day with my dearest and truest friends (girls who still love me to this day: Joey, Tiffany, Heidi…)

I will never forget, though, leaving that group of girls for one quick fling with my little brother and my friend’s little brother (who was like a brother to me).  We were going to go ride the big wooden roller coaster together, in the dark, by ourselves.  Leaving the pack of girls without telling anyone, we ran through the park as a threesome, jumping trashcans and park benches.  We made it to the ride, which had no line, and rode that thing, the wind whipping through our hair.  Even I, the girl whose voice is too low to scream, yelped and howled.

I remember feeling absolute contentment in that moment, and thought, “This is what heaven’s going to be like.  I’ve got my wonderful friends to go back to, AND, in this moment, I’m with my two little brothers, deliciously happy, flying through the night air.  In a few days, I’ll have to go back to Texas, but, for now, I have it all.”

Does that answer your question?  *going off to grab a tissue*  *sniff*

11. And finally, the most important of all…cake or pie?

BOTH.  I frequently have multiple desserts for my birthday.  I have quite the sweet tooth.  White cake with white icing.  And pecan pie.  ❤

Now it’s my turn to elect eleven others to answer eleven questions!

Except my questions are going to be WEIRD. 

Because I feel like it.  😀

Here are the nominees:

Motivational Giraffe, A Smith’s World, Beth Steury, Beneath the Tangles, The Monday Heretic, Old Things R New, Lydia Thomas, Arpad Gordon, Sparks of Ember, IANFJAY, and Bemilyjane.  Hooray for all of you!

Here are my 11 questions for all of you:

1. What do you believe with all of your heart – and no one can convince you otherwise?

2. Have you ever read the book of John in the Bible?  Why or why not?

3. Who is your best friend?  Why?

4. What would (or did) you name your first daughter?  What does that name mean?

5. Have you ever prayed?  What did you say?

6. Who do you honestly love the most?  Why?

7. Why do you blog?  What started it for you?

8. What purpose where you made for?  And how do you know?

9. What’s your worst fear?

10. What’s the worst nightmare you ever had?

11. Do you know that Jesus Christ died for you?  Do you know He loves you?  And I do too.

Comment and tell me when you’ve answered the questions! 

13 thoughts on “Liebster Award – or an interview about me!

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | 3 – A Smith's World

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award | Lydia Thomas, Author

  3. This was super fun too read!! I absolutely love your princess story. Too cute! I was also making up stories from a young age, so I really connected with that. Plus, I’m also a piano teacher AND was homeschooled. Who knew we had so much in common?? 😉

    Like

  4. Thanks for the nomination! And it was fun to learn more about you. I bet that Santa was beyond flummoxed! lol
    I was homeschooled 6 grade & up – there’s not a lot of us out there. Our parents were the trendsetters! (they pulled all 5 of us at once from public school so while I went through 5th grade in public school, my youngest brother only experienced kindergarten!)
    Your dearest memory is very sweet. That’s awesome.
    And a Danny Kaye fan – yay! Love him!

    Like

I want to hear from you!

